2024 ITW Thriller Awards Nominees

The International Thriller Writers announced their 2024 ITW Thriller Awards Nominees. (From their website) The Thriller Writers is an honorary society of authors who write books broadly classified as ‘thrillers.’ These include murder mystery, detective, suspense, horror, supernatural, action, espionage, true crime, adventure, and others. They have over 5000 members in 49 countries.

For the thriller awards, the author must be an active ITW member, or the publisher must be on recognized by ITW. The awards will be given out at this year’s Thrillerfest. They have been given out since 2006.


Best Hardcover Novel

S.A. Cosby              All the Sinners Bleed (Flatiron Books)

Robert Dugoni         Her Deadly Game (Thomas & Mercer)

J.T. Ellison              It’s One of Us (Harlequin – MIRA Books)

Mick Herron            The Secret Hours (Soho Crime)

Joe Ide                   Fixit (Mulholland Books)

C.J. Tudor               The Drift (Ballantine Books)

Best Audiobook

I.S. Berry                The Peacock and the Sparrow (Atria)

                              Narrated by Pete Simonelli

Gregg Hurwitz         The Last Orphan (Macmillan)

                              Narrated by Scott Brick

Freida McFadden    The Housemaid’s Secret (Bookouture)

                              Narrated by Lauryn Allman

James Patterson, Mike Lupica      The House of Wolves (Hachette Audio)

                              Narrated by Ellen Archer

Emma Rosenblum   Bad Summer People (Macmillan)

                              Narrated by January LaVoy

Best First Novel

I.S. Berry                The Peacock and the Sparrow (Atria)

Amy Chua               The Golden Gate (Minotaur)

Margot Douaihy       Scorched Grace (Zando)

Kerryn Mayne         Lenny Marks Gets Away With Murder (Bantam Books)

Steve Urszenyi        Perfect Shot: A Thriller (Minotaur)

Best Paperback Original Novel

Tracy Clark             Hide (Thomas & Mercer)

Luke Dumas           The Paleontologist (Atria)

Tess Gerritsen        The Spy Coast (Thomas & Mercer)

Lisa Gray                To Die For (Thomas & Mercer)

Jonathan Maberry   Cave 13: A Joe Ledger and Rogue Team International Novel (St Martin’s Griffin)

J. Todd Scott           Call the Dark (Thomas & Mercer)

Best Short Story

Chris Bohjalian        “Slot Machine Fever Dreams” (Amazon Original Stories)

J.T. Ellison “These Cold Strangers” (Amazon Original Stories)

Smita Harish Jain    “An Honorable Choice” (Wildside Press)

Richard Santos       “Rush Hour” (Akashic Books)

Lisa Unger              “Unknown Caller” (Amazon Original Stories)

Stacy Woodson       “One Night in 1965” (Down & Out Books)

Best Young Adult Novel

Sorboni Banerjee, Dominique Richardson         Red As Blood (Wolfpack Publishing LLC)

Darcy Coates          Where He Can’t Find You (Sourcebooks Fire)

Courtney Gould       Where Echoes Die (Wednesday Books)

Andrea Hannah       Where Darkness Blooms (Wednesday Books)

Elizabeth Wein        Stateless (Little, Brown, & Co.)

Best E-book Original Novel

Jeff Buick                The Vulture Fund (Self-published)

Rona Halsall            The Bigamist (Bookouture)

Matt Phillips            A Good Rush of Blood (RunAmok Books)

Lisa Regan             Close Her Eyes (Bookouture)

Robert Swartwood   The Killing Room (Blackstone Publishing)

Laura Wolfe            The In-Laws (Bookouture)


Opening a Mystery would like to congratulate all if the 2024 ITW Thriller Awards Nominees and wish them the best. The winners will be announced by ITW at Thrillerfest XIX on Saturday June 1, 2024, at the Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, New York City.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *