2022 Macavity Awards

Mystery Readers Journal
Mystery Readers International Presents the Macavity Awards

Here is a list of the 2022 Macavity Award winners that were announced at the opening ceremonies of Bouchercon 2022 in Minneapolis. The Macavity Awards are a literary award for mystery writers. They are nominated and voted on by the members of the Mystery Readers International. The award is named for the ‘mystery cat’ of T. S. Eliot’s Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats.

The 2022 Macavity Awards winners are:

Best Mystery Novel

S.A. Cosby, Razorblade Tears (Flatiron Books)

Best First Mystery

Mia P. Manansala, Arsenic and Adobo (Berkley)


Best Mystery Short Story

Richard Helms, “Sweeps Week” (EQMM, July/August 2021)

Best Nonfiction/Critical

Lee Child with Laurie R. King, Eds., How to Write a Mystery: A Handbook from Mystery Writers of America (Scribner)

Sue Feder Memorial Award for Best Historical Mystery

Naomi Hirahara, Clark and Division (Soho Crime)

The 2022 Macavity Awards Winners @TimSuddeth @OpeningaMystery #Mysteries #2022Bouchercon Click To Tweet


Congratulations to the nominees and winners. I can’t wait to add these books to my library.

One response to “2022 Macavity Awards”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *