The 2022 Shamus Awards Winners

Sam Spade. Mike Hammer. Kinsey Millhone. Some of our favorite characters have been Private Investigators. And a great way to keep up with the best in current PI stories is to follow the 2022 Shamus Awards winners and nominees.

Recently, the Private Eye Writers of America (PWA) announced the winners of the 2022 Shamus Awards. The Shamus Awards go to the best private eye novels and short stories published in the United States the previous year. The PWA defines a Private Eye as a person paid to investigate crimes who is not employed by a government agency.

The PWA and the Shamus Awards were founded by Robert J. Randisi. The first Shamus Awards were given out in 1982. On their website, they state that their goal is to make sure the genre continues to prosper and grow.

The 2022 Shamus Awards winners are:

Best PI Hardcover

             Family Business by S. J. Rozan (Pegasus)


Best Original Paperback

Every City is Every Other City by John McFetridge (ECW Press)


Best First PI Novel

       Lost Little Girl by Gregory Stout (Level Best)


Best PI Short Story 

          ” Sweeps Week” by Richard Helms (July/August)


2022 Shamus Award Winners @TimSuddeth @OpeningaMystery #Awards #Mysteries #MysteryReaders Click To Tweet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *