The 2022 Derringer Awards


If you wish to read a mystery but don’t have much time to climb into a novel, maybe you’d rather read a shorter type of mystery. And for

2022 Derringer Awards Wimmers

suggestions on the crème de le crème of the little crop, you can turn to the Derringer Awards. These awards are given by the Short Mystery Fiction Society (SFMS) and are announced annually on May 1.

2022 Derringer Awards Winners
Flash Fiction (up to 1000 words)       John M. Floyd, “Tourist Trap.” Pulp Modern Flash
Short Story (1001-4000 words)        Tony Dowell, “Yelena Tried To Kill Me.” Mystery Weekly Magazine, August 2021
Long Story (4001-8000 words)         Michael Bracken, “The Downeaster Alexa.” Only the Good Die Young
Novelette (8001-20,000 words)        Stacy Woodson, “Two Tamales, One Tokarrev, and a Lifetime of Broken Promises.”                                                                                                         Guns+Tacos: Season Three

 In addition, each year, the SMFS presents the Edward D. Hoch Memorial Golden Derringer Award to a living writer for their outstanding body of short fiction. This year’s winner is S. J. Rozan.

Finally, for their Hall of Fame entrant, they selected G. K. Chesterton. [Stay tune here at Opening a Mystery for a future look at Mr. Chesterton, the creator of Father Brown.]

Each year, the Short Mystery Fiction Society gives out the Derringer Awards to honor excellence in Short Mystery Fiction. Created in 1997, the society uses the derringer, a small, palm-sized handgun, as a metaphor for a short mystery or crime story.

For considered for the 2022 Derringer Awards, a submission:

  • Must be a mystery or crime story up to 20,000 words,
  • Must be originally published in 2021, in English,
  • May be published in a single publication, periodical, collection, or anthology,
  • Must be available in print and/or electronic form,
  • May originate from any country or location.

Besides being announced on May 1, winners receive a physical medal during the  Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention. SMFS will hold this year’s convention on September 8-11, in Minneapolis.

The 2022 Derringer Award winners @Tim Suddeth @OpeningaMystery @SMFSocy #derringerawards #mystery Share on X

To become a member of the Short Mystery Fiction Society, just join their group here.

Finally, if you want to see the list of this year’s nominees, click here.

And to continue to learn more about crime fiction, subscribe to our mailing list below. The names are not shared and we usually send out a mailer only once a week.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *