2024 Lefty Awards

The 2024 Lefty Awards were presented at the Left Coast Crime Convention 2024-Seattle Shakedown on April 13, 2024. The awards were voted on by the attendees at the convention. The nominees and winners were chosen by readers and writers at the convention. Congratulations to all the nominees and winners.


Best Humorous Mystery Novel

Winner- Wendall Thomas. Cheap Thrills (Beyond the Page Books)

Jennifer J. Chow, Hot Pot Murder (Berkley Prime Crime)

Lee Matthew Goldberg, The Great Gimmelmans (Level Best Books)

Leslie Karst, A Sense of Murder (Severn House)

Catriona McPherson, Hop Scot (Severn House)

Cindy Sample, Dying for a Decoration (Cindy Sample Books)


Best Historical Mystery Novel

(Bill Gottfried Memorial) for books covering events before 1970

Winner- Naomi Hirahara, Evergreen (Soho Crime)

Cara Black, Night Flight to Paris (Soho Crime)

Bruce Borgos, The Bitter Past (Minotaur Books)

Susanna Calkins, Death Among the Ruins (Severn House)

Dianne Freeman, A Newlywed’s Guide to Fortune and Murder (Kensington)

Cheryl A. Head, Time’s Undoing (Dutton)

Best Debut Mystery Novel

Winner- Nina Simon, Mother-Daughter Murder Night (William Morrow)

Lina Chern, Play the Fool (Bantam)

Margot Douaihy, Scorched Grace (Gillian Flynn Books)

Josh Pachter, Dutch Treat (Genius Book Publishing)

Ana Reyes, The House in the Pines (Dutton)

Best Mystery Novel

Winner- Tracy Clark, Hide (Thomas & Mercer)

S.A. Cosby, All the Sinners Bleed (Flatiron Books)

Matt Coyle, Odyssey’s End (Oceanview Publishing)

Jordan Harper, Everybody Knows (Mulholland Books)

James L’Etoile, Face of Greed (Oceanview Publishing)

Gigi Pandian, The Raven Thief (Minotaur Books)


2024 Lefty Awards Winners and Nominees @TimSuddeth @OpeningaMystery #amreading #amwriting Share on X

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *