2023 Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Awards

2023 Killer Nashville tee shirt
Shirt from 2023 Killer Nashville

The 2023 Silver Falchion Awards are given out annually by Killer Nashville for the best books published in the previous year that incorporate the elements of mystery, thriller and suspense. The awards honoring the books published in 2022 were given out at the Killer Nashville Awards dinner held in Franklin, Tn. on August 19, 2023.

Although I didn’t attend this year’s dinner, I did attend the conference. The panels and speakers were awesome and inspiring. If you are a writer, or hope to be, in one of these categories, I wholeheartedly recommend you attend. Clay Stafford and his hearty band of volunteers put on a great conference.

If you wonder what the different genres offer, here is a great place to start. And here is a link to the finalists. Congratulations to everyone on both lists.

The winners of the Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Awards for the best books of 2022 were:


Best Book of 2022

            Target Acquired by Lynessa Layne

First Runner Up for Best Book

                Lies People Tell: An FBI Agent’s Toolkit for Catching Liars and Cheats by Frank Runles


Best Action Adventure

 The Child Riddler by Angel Greenman


Best Comedy

Richter the Mighty by J. B. Manning

Best Cozy

Murder in Third Position by Lori Robbins

Best Historical

Murder at the Galliano Club by Carmen Amato

Best Investigator

Dead Drop by James L’Etoile

Best Juvenile / YA

In Myrtle Peril, a Myrtle Hardcastle Mystery by Elizabeth Bunce

Best Literary

The Displacements by Bruce Holsinger

Best Mainstream / Commercial

Greenwich Park by Katherine Faulkner

Best Mystery

The Bone Records by Rich Zahradnik

Best Nonfiction

Lies People Tell: An FBI Agent’s Toolkit for Catching Liars and Cheats by Frank Runles

Best Sci-Fi / Fantasy

Death Warrant by Bryan Johnston

Best Short Story Collection / Anthology

Into the Forest: Tales of the Baba Yaga by Lindy Ryan

Best Southern Gothic

River of Ashes by Alexandrea Weis and Lucas Astor

Best Supernatural

The Children of the Hill by Jennifer McMahon

Best Suspense

Target Acquired by Lynessa Layne

Best Thriller

One of Us is Dead by Jeneva Rose

Best Western

Blood on the Trail by Terrence McCauley


The winners of the 2023 Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Awards @TimSuddeth @OpeningaMystery @KillerNashville #writersawards #mysteries #writerscommunity Share on X

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *