2023 Derringer Award Winners

The 2023 Derringer Award winners were announced May 1 by the Short Mystery Fiction Society. The awards have been given annually since 1998. The 2023 Derringer Awards recognize outstanding stories published in 2022. The results are determined by the votes from the society’s members.


Edward D. Hoch Memorial Golden Derringer for Lifetime Achievement

Martin Edwards


Best Flash Fiction (Up to 1000 words)

“Acknowledgments” by Karen Harrington (Guilty Crime Story Magazine online flash fiction, April 2022)


Best Short Story (1001 to 4000 words)

“My Two-Legs” by Melissa Yi (Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, September/October 2022)


Best Long Story (4001 to 8000 words)

“Negative Tilt” by Bobby Mathews (Rock and a Hard Place, Issue 7)


Best Novelette (8001 to 20,000 words)

“Two Shrimp Tacos and a .22 Ruger” by Adam Meyer (Guns & Tacos, Down & Out Books)


The 2023 Derringer Award Winners @TimSuddeth @OpeningaMystery #awards #mysteries Click To Tweet


(Congratulations to all the nominees and winners.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *