The 2022 Barry Awards

Deadly Pleasures Magazine announced the winners of the Barry Awards at the Opening Ceremonies at the Minneapolis Bouchercon Thursday September 8, 2022.

In 1997, the editorial staff of Deadly Pleasures Mystery Magazine decided that, since one of their magazine’s goals was to search out and report on the best works being published in the field of crime fiction each year, it would be a natural fit to present an award for excellence. They named the award for one of their reviewers, Barry Gardner,  who passed away in 1996. The awards nominees are chosen by the nominating committee. The readers and subscribers vote for the winners.


Best Mystery/Crime Novel

Razorblade Tears, S. A. Cosby (Flatiron Books)

Best First Mystery/Crime Novel

Sleeping Bear, Connor Sullivan (Emily Bestler/Atria)

Best Paperback Original

The Good Turn, Dervla McTiernan (Blackstone)

Best Thriller

Five Decembers, James Kestral (HardCase Crime)

The 2022 Barry Awards @TimSuddeth @OpeningaMystery @Bouchercon @DeadlyPleasures #BarryAwards #Mysteries Share on X

Congratulations to all the finalists and winners.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *