2022 Edgar Awards Winners

2022 Edgar Best Novel Award
Five Decembers by James Kestral

On April 28, the Mystery Writers of America announced the winners of the 76th annual Edgar Awards in New York City. The awards, the Edgars, honor the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction, television, film, and theatre published or produced in the previous year.


This year’s winners were:


Best Novel

Five Decembers by James Kestral (Hard Case Crime)


Best First Novel by an American Author

Deer Season by Erin Flanagan (University of Nebraska Press)

Best Paperback Original

Bobby March Will Live Forever by Alan Parks (Europa Editions-World Noir)

Best Fact Crime

Last Call: A True Story of Love, Lust, and Murder in Queer New York by Elon Green (Celadon Books)

Best Critical/Biographical

The Twelve Lives of Alfred Hitchcock: An Anatomy of the Master of Suspense by Edward White (W.W. Norton & Company)

Best Short Story

“The Road to Hana” Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine by R.T. Lawton (Dell Magazines)

Best Juvenile

Concealed by Christina Diaz Gonzalez (Scholastic-Scholastic Press)

Best Young Adult

Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley (MacMillan Children’s Publishing-Henry Holt and Company BFYR)

Best Television Episode Teleplay

“Boots on the Ground”-Narcos Mexico, written by Iturri Sosa (Netflix)

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award

(For the best first mystery short story by an American author.)

Rob Osler, “Analogue” (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine)

The Simon Schuster Mary Higgins Clark Award

(For a book in a series with a main character has to feature a female protagonist who has the hallmarks of Sue’s writing and Kinsey’s character.)

Clark and Division by Naomi Hirahara (Soho Press-Soho Crime)

The G.P.Putnam’s Sons Sue Grafton Memorial Award

(For a book most closely written in the Mary Higgins Clark tradition.)

Runner by Tracy Clark (Kensington Books)

Special Awards

Grand Master

(Represents the pinnacle of achievement in mystery writing and was established to acknowledge important contributions to the genre, as well as for a body of work that is both significant and of consistent high quality.)

Laurie R. King

Raven Award

(Recognizes outstanding achievement in the mystery field outside of the realm of creative writing)

Lesa Holstine-Lesa’s Book Critiques; Library Journal Reviewer


Ellery Queen Award

(Established in 1983 to honor “outstanding writing teams and outstanding people in the mystery-publishing industry.)

Juliet Grames-Soho Books


Congratulations to the 2022 Edgar Awards winner listed at @OpeningaMystery #awards #MysteryWritersofAmerica @TimSuddeth Click To Tweet

Information taken from the Mystery Writers website.

You can also find the link to the nominees here.

One response to “2022 Edgar Awards Winners”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *